NRC Research Associate Programs
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs

Participating Agencies

  sign inOpen Printer View

RAP opportunity at Air Force Research Laboratory     AFRL

Materials Heterogeneity


Materials & Manufacturing, RX/Functional Materials Division

opportunity location
13.25.01.C0289 Wright-Patterson AFB, OH 454337817


name email phone
Ajit K. Roy 937.255.9034


Materials hybridization (hetero-material configuration) at smaller scale, taking to atomic scale, offers unprecedented opportunities for optimizing materials functionality (electronic, thermal, chemical, and mechanical) at reduced material consumption and potentially reduced materials qualification costs. Multi-material heterogeneity through efficient design of materials interface morphology and processing protocol for precise placement of atoms/molecules via appropriate processing routes are desired. Our emphasis is in integrating scale-appropriate (atomic, meso, continuum) materials modeling with processing science towards developing scalable materials processing approaches and understanding the physics of materials response to device performance. Our interest is in employing innovative materials modeling (DFT, MD, tight binding DFT, meso-scale, continuum mechanics) to facilitate developing scalable nano-manufacturing approaches, such as printing, laser or e-beam processing. Creative material metrology in conjunction of the materials modeling is also of interest.

key words
Nanoscale processing; Thin Film Heterostructure; Atomic Modeling; Meso-scale Modeling; ALD; Laser Processing; Memoristors; Stretchable Electronics; Atomic Defects


Citizenship:  Open to U.S. citizens
Level:  Open to Postdoctoral and Senior applicants


Base Stipend Travel Allotment Supplementation
$80,000.00 $5,000.00

$3,000 Supplement for Doctorates in Engineering & Computer Science

Experience Supplement:
Postdoctoral and Senior Associates will receive an appropriately higher stipend based on the number of years of experience past their PhD.

Copyright © 2024. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.Terms of Use and Privacy Policy