NRC Research and Fellowship Programs
Fellowships Office
Policy and Global Affairs

Participating Agencies

  sign in | print

RAP opportunity at Air Force Science and Technology Fellowship Program     AF STFP

Experimental Low-temperature Plasma Physics and Data-Driven Modeling for Space Propulsion


Aerospace Systems Directorate, RQ/Rocket Propulsion Division

opportunity location
13.30.12.C0686 Edwards Air Force Base, CA 93524


name email phone
Daniel Eckhardt 661-275-6795


We conduct studies in Electric Propulsion for spacecraft ranging from theory to laboratory experiments and data analysis. Example devices include Hall-effect thrusters (HETs), Electrospray thrusters, Field Reversed Configuration (FRC) thrusters, RF and Microwave Electro-thermal thrusters, MPDs, Pulse Inductive Thrusters, Helicon thrusters, Electromagnetic thrusters and other advanced concepts. Possible research topics including charged particle beams, HET plasma physics, spacecraft plume interactions, facility interactions, plasma diagnostic development, and high voltage systems. Strong emphasis is put on leveraging data-driven modeling coupled with laboratory experiments to better understand electric propulsion devices.


Goebel, Dan M., and Ira Katz. Fundamentals of electric propulsion: ion and Hall thrusters. Vol. 1. John Wiley & Sons, 2008.

Brown, Daniel L., Brian E. Beal, and James M. Haas. "Air Force Research Laboratory high power electric propulsion technology development." 2010 IEEE Aerospace Conference. IEEE, 2010.

PA Case Number AFRL-2022-0525

key words
Electric propulsion; low temperature plasmas; plasma thrusters; electrospray; data-driven modeling; Experimental; spacecraft propulsion; dynamical systems


Citizenship:  Open to U.S. citizens
Level:  Open to Postdoctoral and Senior applicants


Base Stipend Travel Allotment Supplementation
$95,000.00 $5,000.00

Experience Supplement:
Postdoctoral and Senior Associates will receive an appropriately higher stipend based on the number of years of experience past their PhD.

Copyright © 2024. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.Terms of Use and Privacy Policy